Apply for India eVisa

Indian Visa Policy Map

Policy Map


Freedom of Movement

Visa Free(90 days)

e-Visa (60 days)

Visa on Arrival

Visa Required

Government Clearance Required in Advance

Visa rules for visitors vary from one County to another. Now a days, to get indian visa online is not a big task, if you have a good net connectivity and follow the instructions properly given in the online application form and visit the colourful diversity of India (Hindustan). It is advised that tourists willing to visit India must confirm whether they need a pre-arranged visa, visa on-arrival or they belong to visa exempt country. Visa-free entry
  •   Bhutan
  •   Nepal
  •   Maldives (Up to 90 days stay)
Above are the Visa exempt countries for India. Citizens of these nations can avail the visa-free entry to India provided they do not arrive from China. Citizens of Nepal and Bhutan have freedom of movement i.e. the citizens of these nations may live or work freely in India without any limit of stay. Visa-free entry
  • Japan
India provides Visa on Arrival (VOA) only to the citizens of Japan through Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Kolkata or Mumbai. These services are available with the sub categories of Business, Tourist, Medical, Conference or Medical Attendant having validity of 30 days, and can be applied for not more than two times in one calendar year. The visa is issued to the applicant provided they are not of Bangladeshi or Pakistani origin.

Visa exemption for Persons of Indian Origin Card

A PIO (Person of Indian Origin) Card allows visa free travel to India until 30 September 2018 only, After this particular date visa required to visit India. The Government of India has a comprehensive Scheme for Persons of Indian Origin or the overseas citizens of India called the "PIO Card Scheme". Under this scheme, Persons of Indian Origin upto the fourth generation (great grandparents) settled throughout the world would be eligible, unless they are not citizens of the following nations-
  •   Bangladesh
  •   Bhutan
  •   China
  •   Nepal
  •   Pakistan
  •   Sri Lanka

E-Visa India

In 27 November 2014, the Government of India has announced (ETA) the Electronic Travel Authorisation facility, Now citizens of around 165 eligible countries for Indian e-Visa within three subcategories:
  • e-Tourist Visa
  • e-Business Visa
  • e-Medical Visa
  • e-Conference Visa
  • e-Medical Attendant Visa
The e-Visa application must be submitted at least 4 days and at most 120 days before the arrival date to India. The validity of an eTA is 60 days which starts from the date of arrival. The applicant can obtain an ETA only two times in an year. The applicant can make double entry with e-Tourist and e-Business visa while triple entry can be made through e-Medical visa. The validity of any type of visa cannot be extended. The applicant must not forget his/her e-Visa and a valid citizen card of your country along with the required documents while coming to India. The required documents depends on the type of visa you have applied for.

What to bring to the airport ?

When we approve your eTA, it will be linked to the passport you used to apply. You will need your passport, copy of eTV and valid citizen card when you check-in to your flight to India. The airline staff will scan your passport to confirm that you have a valid eTA. Once ETA is verified, the carrier / Airline will issue your Boarding Pass. If you do not have one, you will be not allowed to board your flight.

What kind of Questions are on the ETA ?

The eTA application form asks for the traveller's address, passport information, employment status, how much money they have available for their visit to India and whether they have ever applied to enter India before. Other questions that appear on the form include:
  • "Have you ever been refused a visa or permit, denied entry to, or ordered to leave India or any other country/territory?"
  • "Have you ever committed, been arrested for, been charged with or convicted of any criminal offence in any country/territory?"
  • "Do you have a serious health condition for which you are receiving medical treatment?"

Diplomatic or Official Passports

Holders of Diplomatic/Official/Service Passport that are already in India can apply for the visa services like Visa extension, Visa type conversion, New Visa and Transfer of Visa. Holders of ordinary passports are not eligible to apply.
Eligible country

Visa Required

Visa-free for diplomatic and official passport holders

Visa-free for diplomatic passports